Frequently Asked Questions
Why do I need SafeShield if there is Windows System Restore?
The difference is that Antivirus utilities can affect whether your system can be restored to a previous point with Windows System Restore. Because SafeShield is using the virtualization technology, it does not have this vulnerability. Furthermore, it can even protect Windows System Restore from being corrupted. You can use SafeShield along with all the popular anti virus and anti malware softwre programs for total protection. In addition, SafeShield can protect not only your system but also files and folders on all your drives except those specifically excluded by you, which cannot be done through Windows System Restore.
Another difference is that you can rely on SafeShield for complete privacy protection to cover your computer tracks. Windows System Restore, on the other hand, can be undone and, therefore, recover all your tracks.
What is the difference between Virtual Mode ON with Save Changes selected and Virtual Mode OFF? Don't both save the changes?
The main difference is when the contents are saved to the real disk. When the Virtual Mode is ON with Save Changes selected, saving changes is delayed until the computer is shut down. When the Virtual Mode is OFF, changes are saved to the real disk immediately. The former option may cause slow shut-downs depending on the amount of data that needs to be saved to the real disk. Do not power off the computer while the changes are being saved.
What exactly does System Guard protect?
System Guard is a very targeted antimalware to protect your Windows from exposure to malware designed to circumvent virtualization. It is independent of Virtual Mode. For total protection, it is highly recommended that you turn on both Virtual Mode and System Guard. However, System Guard should always be turned off along with Virtual Mode if Drop Changes selected prior to attempting to apply Microsoft Windows updates.
Where is virtual copy stored and what happens if it runs out of space?
The main vrtual copy is stored in the disk cache on your system partition, the drive where your Windows is installed and usually it is your C drive. The default cache size is 4,096 MB, which can be changed at the time of installing SafeShield or using the Uninstaller, Repair option at any time.
If you perform a lot of activities with SafeShield on, eventually it may run out of cache space, which will display the delayed write to cache warning message. The easiest way to cure the out of space problem is to restart your computer and the cache will be automatically cleared.
If you frequently see this message, it may indicate your cache size is too small. To resolve this issue, increase the size of your cache until you are satisfied that the message no longer appears during normal operations.